Select Page

Updates & News

Read the latest news and updates related to updating Bainbridge Island’s city code.

Planning Commission Meeting July 25, 2024

Posted July 12, 2024

The Bainbridge Island Planning Commission will be discussing what regulations should be adopted regarding crematoria on July 25th, 2024 at 6pm, in the council chambers at Bainbridge Island City Hall. The meeting is open to the public and public comment is accepted. The Planning Commission members can be contacted at the following email addresses:

Ariel Birtley ariel.birtley@cobicommittee.email
Sarah Blossom sarah.blossom@cobicommittee.email
Alexander Preudhomme alexander.preudhomme@cobicommittee.email
Criss Garcia criss.garcia@cobicommittee.email
Peter Schaab peter.schaab@cobicommittee.email
Sean Sullivan sean.sullivan@cobicommittee.email
Ben Deines benjamin.deines@cobicommittee.email

Public Hearing Report

Posted May 30, 2024

On May 28, 2024, the Bainbridge Island City Council held a public hearing on the topic of establishing a moratorium on crematoria. The vote to maintain the moratorium for the remainder of the 6 month period passed 5 to 2.

Public Hearing Scheduled

Posted May 16, 2024

The Bainbridge City Council has scheduled a Public Hearing on the topic of crematoriums and related code for May 28, 2024 at 6 pm in the Council Chambers at 280 Madison Avenue, Bainbridge Island.

This is an opportunity for the public to tell the city and the council what regulations need to be implemented regarding crematoria on Bainbridge Island. If you are unable to attend, comments can be submitted to the council via e-mail council@bainbridgewa.gov or to the city clerk at cityclerk@bainbridgewa.gov.

Bainbridge City Council Approves 6 Month Moratorium On Crematories

Posted April 24, 2024

The Bainbridge City Council approved a 6 month moratorium on crematories. The moratorium is a time to gather information, a public comment session will be held and to determine if or how the city code needs to be changed in order to regulate crematories on Bainbridge Island. Read a further summary of the April 23, 2024 City Council meeting in this article from the Bainbridge Island Review.

Bainbridge City Council Votes To Discuss Crematoriums

Posted April 6, 2024

The Bainbridge City Council voted to discuss a moratorium on crematoriums at the April 23rd City Council meeting. City Council meetings are open to the public both in person and via Zoom. Public comment will be heard. Read more in the Bainbridge Island Review

Bainbridge City Council to Possibly Consider Moratorium on Cremations

Posted April 5, 2024

The Bainbridge City Council is set to possibly consider a moratorium on Crematoriums at the April 9th City Council meeting. Read more from the Kitsap Daily News.